Reflection

January 13, 2012

So, where do I start with this blog? Probably the biggest problem with starting this blog now is that I have already been a Pokemon fan for the majority of my life. Countless experiences with Pokemon that I can only summarize or give bits and pieces about. So let’s start with the basics.

You have wandered into the tall grass.

You didn’t have a god damned Pokemon with you.

A wild Pokemon fan appeared!

I got into Pokemon when I was 7 or 8 years old. My friends were playing Red and Blue versions on their brick-ass Gameboys and I had no idea what was happening. I asked them what they were doing and one of them tilted their screen towards me. I looked into a world made of pixels and charming 8bit music.

Somehow, I had been entranced. I wanted a Gameboy so I could play with them and it happened. I managed to get a blue Gameboy Pocket from one member of my family. On Christmas I was given the Red Version. And so my antisocial addictions began.

I’ll tell you more about my history as a Pokemon fan later. Right now, I’ll tell you some quick facts about what Pokemon communities I’m a part of now.

 

-Pokemon Battle video community on YouTube (viewer)

Of course, you need to find the YouTubers on your own but I may post videos by them.

University Pokemon Club (Member)

/vp/ (everything)

Smogon (Leech who adds no original content)

Bulbapedia (Leech)

Serebii (occasional news checker)

That list is clearly not long.

 

But, anyways, this has been a very basic “get to know you” with a little bit of history. Don’t fret, there will be LOTS to come. If you would like more information about me, leave a comment and I’ll either respond or answer it in an upcoming post!

This is Cirque, signing out.

13 Responses to “Reflection”

  1. I’m glad you went along with this idea for the blog; there is a lot of opportunity to connect with your readers via shared experience. I played a ton of Pokemon when I was younger so I am excited to get the opportunity to explore that world once again. Though it has been years since I played it I am not surprised to see the craze lives on. A quick question; who did you choose to train as your first Pokemon? I think mine was Squirtle.

    • dennistheman said

      Its great to hear about other people’s experiences with Pokemon from childhood. My first starter was Charmander (who I later had to abandon because I couldn’t beat Brock and was too dumb to catch a Mankey east of Viridian City). I’ll make a post about Charmander and my continued love for lizard-like Pokemon in the future because it ties deeply into my childhood.

  2. ashley said

    Cirqueduface!
    I wish you had linked the communities! I wanted to know about them so much I tried clicking on their obviously unclickable names. =(

    Otherwise, I’m super excited about this, because I know it will be fun for you.

    When I was little, my brother and I had a green gameboy color that we had to share, and he got Red version first. Not long after, I got yellow version and giggled when I discovered my pikachu followed me around everywhere.

    I have vague memories of legendary pokemon and Missing No. Code and infinite items, but I no longer remember how to do that. =( It’s been years since I’ve even seriously thought about pokemon (and yet, I still remember parts of the pokerap and have trouble giving up my cards…)

    I stopped following pokemon beyond the original 150…so all these new ones perplex me….

    …that is all.

    • dennistheman said

      Thanks for bringing up the linking issues! Just for you, I’m going to edit the post and add them in. Those websites are almost all you need (aside from google) to learn EVERYTHING about the contemporary Pokemon world!

  3. Yes! I am so excited to see what comes of this blog. I still have my 700 pokemon cards from when I was in 5th grade. In fact they are sitting not more then 3 feet from me at this moment. I stopped collecting them in 6th grade however I have always hung onto them and look at them occasionally for nostalgia.

    I also played Pokemon Red as a kid, and I definately bought a Nintendo DS for the sole purpose of playing Pokemon White. Aside from the Pokemon White game though I dont know anything about Pokemon from 6th grade to now. Hopefully I will learn some new things.

  4. Alison said

    I’m so exited for this blog! I remember watching the Pokemon episodes with my two brothers (why does Brock not have eyes?) and watching them play the card game.I had the blue version but got fed up with it after I couldn’t figure out how to exit Ash’s house at the beginning. I later found out you just have to walk on that little rug. I hope to see some of your artwork and new invented Pokemon!

    • dennistheman said

      Hey, thanks Alison. Sorry to reply so late. I’m not sure if I’ll be publishing any of my own artwork. I might but typically I don’t draw much.
      That said, I have had some success when drawing Pokemon with my friends. So maybe I’ll include a drawing in some posts.

  5. I like your voice! I don’t play Pokemon or particularly care about it, or most video games besides DK Country for SNES… but I care about you so I will give it a shot.

  6. Hi cirque, I’ll be interested in learning more about pokeman, but even more so about the collector of pokeman; your “about” tab is great as it gives us some insight about you.
    Is the name of the blog “Boggasaur”? I’m not quite seeing the name of the blog on the blog itself.

    • dennistheman said

      I’ll explain things for you, Brenda, since you’re my prof haha.
      First, saying “Pokeman” rather than “Pokemon” is the most blatant sign of being too old to know about Pokemon. xD
      Second, the name of the blog is an alteration of “Venusaur” which is the scary Pokemon seen at the top of my home page. Venusaur is a classic Generation One pokemon that every Pokemon fan knows about. This is why the tagline of the blog is “Cirque sent out Bloggasaur.” Cirque is my online alias and, in the act of publishing posts, I’m “sending them out” the same way a Pokemon Trainer would call out one of his Pokemon. It’s all catering to my audience.

  7. Jack Kostylo said

    me gusta.

    and I remember getting blue version when my brother got red. he then went to gold and I to silver. the divide continues. it’s almost…beautiful.

Tell some stuffs.